PAN 500 - 4.1.2 - Bypass Mgmt Interface

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

PAN 500 - 4.1.2 - Bypass Mgmt Interface

Not applicable

Hi,

I am pretty new to PAN Firewalls, and my question is really basic.

I would like to use only two interfaces on my Firewall : ethernet1/7 as my Lan and ethernet1/8 as my Internet Acess.

I would like to avoid using Mgmt Interface port.

I have found a thread which explains how to enable management on any interface through CLI. And it did worked well. I can now admin the box from ethernet1/7.

Now I want to be able to get Internet Access using ethernet1/8 AND I want the firewall to get updates and Internet connectivity through the same interface.

I have left the Management interface gateway in blank.

ethernet1/7 belongs to zone "LAN" and ethernet1/8 belongs to zone "Internet".

ethernet1/8 is directly connected to my ISP router, and I have assigned an IP in the same range that my ISP router.

Both interface belongs Virtual Router "default".

I have manually configured a static route to ethernet1/8 interface : 0.0.0.0/0 next hop IP => IP of my ISP Router

And in the "service route configuration", I have set DNS queries, updates, and some other settings to be reached through ethernet1/8.

Just in case, i have set an allow ALL Firewall rule.

First thing weird, when I connect from the console port and I try to ping my ISP router, Ping is unsucceful. I guess it tries to use management interface gateway to reach it.

Second, I can t get Dynamic updates menus, which clearly shows routing problem.

Any idea of what could be missing ?

Beforehand, thanks.

jdessoliers

10 REPLIES 10

L4 Transporter

Hi there,

"...First thing weird, when I connect from the console port and I try to ping my ISP router, Ping is unsucceful".