Routing by country/region.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Routing by country/region.

L1 Bithead

Ok, Palo Gurus - 

I'm fairly new to the platform, but learning as quickly as I can.

As best I can tell, although Palo maintains lists of IP ranges associated with countries - "Regions" (Great!), these can only be referenced in security policies (Stupid.)

I tried referencing Regions both in the Static routing section of the Virtual Router (nope) AND the PBF section of the Policies Tab (nope), without success.

It seems ridiculous that the Palo platform would go to the effort to maintain these lists, but then only let you reference them for the purposes of ACLs.

Particularly in China, it is useful to route the domestic Chinese internet destinations locally, and alternate internet destinations via WAN.  This really should be simple, and I can't imagine Palo would need to write much code to allow Regions to be referenced across the platform where destination/source addressing is implicated.

Can anyone tell me -

A) Am I missing something here?

B) Is there a way to reference those built in Region address lists as "External Address Lists"?

C) How to politely get traction on a sensible feature request from the Palo dev team?
D) Some other way to get this done?

Thanks,
Nate

2 accepted solutions

Accepted Solutions

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

@NathanHughes wrote:

Can anyone tell me -

B) Is there a way to reference those built in Region address lists as "External Address Lists"?

C) How to politely get traction on a sensible feature request from the Palo dev team?

Thanks,
Nate

A) Nope. This isn't a feature that is currently available in PAN-OS. 

B) No