Update software for a new Palo Alto 5260 FW through Panorama

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Update software for a new Palo Alto 5260 FW through Panorama

L2 Linker

Hi,
I am fairly new to the game, and in need of some help. 
I have gotten a brand new PA-5260 fw. The plan for this is to have it in backup in case anything would happen to one of the others fw.
My task is to only update the software on the new PA-5260 from 9.1.4 > 10.1.6-h6, which is the version the other fw are running on now. 

On the new PA-5260 fw I have:
- set the MGT IP, MGT subnetmask and MGT Gateway 

- added the license key.

On the Panorama, I have:
added the PA-5260 as a device so I can see it under Managed Device > Summary and it has also been added to the Panorama > Templates 

When I try to install a higher software version from Panorama to the new PA-5260, I get this message: 
<Failed to upload image.Device msg:`Failed to download PanOS_5200-9.1.15-h1. Download error: Problem with the local SSL Certificate.` >

I have tried to install different versions but the same message appears, except from the version number.

I have tried to create a certificate on the new PA-5260 but was not able to save it for some reason. Not sure if that is the reason why it fails? 
Is there anyone who knows what I have forgotten/not done to be able to update to a newer software version or have some links they can share?  

//Richard M
1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi @PavelK 
Thank you for your time and answers. It was much appreciated.

I read something about the version 9.1.4. In this version there was a bug, that had some kind ssl impact when trying to push a higher software version from Panorama to the local firewall.