Adding/deleting a route from a redistribution profile causes application drop

Announcements

ATTENTION Customers, All Partners and Employees: The Customer Support Portal (CSP) will be undergoing maintenance and unavailable on Saturday, November 7, 2020, from 11 am to 11 pm PST. Please read our blog for more information.

Reply
Highlighted
L2 Linker

Adding/deleting a route from a redistribution profile causes application drop

I have an issue where I have a redistribution profile configured.  We'll call it Redist_Profile_A and in there I have static routes that I'm advertising into BGP.  I create the static route, add it to the redistribution profile Redist_Profile_A, to my export route-map and when I go to commit the rule my application for Vendor B bounces.  I never lose BGP with Vendor B but the application bounces all the time.  Has anyone seen anything like this?  

Highlighted
L2 Linker

Wow, didn't read that before posting it.  Long story short.  I create a static route that needs to be advertised into BGP.  So I get the static route for Vendor A configured and then I add it to the Redistribution Profile.  My PA is BGP neighbor with a route-reflector and so I add the route/prefix to the export map and then commit the changes.  Vendor B has an application that never comes into touch with a redistibution profile but when I commit the route/prefix change (adding or deleting) it causes that application to bounce.  I have never lost my bgp neighbor with Vendor B.  The routing fib for that peer never shows a drop or change in topology and the bgp neighbor has been established for quite some time.  I know there's route convergence and I do have a ticket with PA TAC and Engineering is looking into it but me adding/deleting a route/prefix from a redistribution profile for Vendor A shouldn't cause application from Vendor B to bounce.  

Like what you see?

Show your appreciation!

Click Like if a post is helpful to you or if you just want to show your support.

Click Accept as Solution to acknowledge that the answer to your question has been provided.

The button appears next to the replies on topics you’ve started. The member who gave the solution and all future visitors to this topic will appreciate it!

These simple actions take just seconds of your time, but go a long way in showing appreciation for community members and the Live Community as a whole!

The Live Community thanks you for your participation!