Can't get internet access, routing problem?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Can't get internet access, routing problem?

Not applicable

I have worked with many different types of firewalls, but this is my first time with the Palo Alto 5050. Currently I have a basic configuration, a single internet connection and a VR with a default route, properly addressed interface, policy that allows all traffic, zones, etc. Right now I just want to be able to ping out to the internet, the rest of the setup will be fairly straight forward as I have already began working on it. For some reason I can not make a connection to the internet, I can ping all my interface that I have setup internally but not the gateway. Right now I have been provided with an address such as (fake address), 68.231.208.87/29 (Interface address) and a gateway of 68.231.208.82. I have a VR with a default route of 0.0.0.0/0 to 68.231.208.82 the zone is untrusted and my policy is built to allow all traffic in both directions for the time being. What am I missing? I used this document, https://live.paloaltonetworks.com/docs/DOC-1195 which was helpful but still can not make a connection.

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

L4 Transporter

Can you confirm that you can ping next hop from outside interface?

admin@PA>ping source  68.231.208.87 host  68.231.208.82

Also, Just to confirm, did you set up NAT policy as the following:-

Source Zone:- Trust

Destination Zone:-  Untrust

Source Address:- Any

Destination Address:- any

Source Translation: Dynamic IP and Port, , Untrust Interface, 68.231.208.87/29

Regards

Parth

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

L4 Transporter

Can you confirm that you can ping next hop from outside interface?

admin@PA>ping source  68.231.208.87 host  68.231.208.82