Firmware update from USB

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Firmware update from USB

L1 Bithead

Hello All,

I am new to paloalto firewalls (student in training), I have a PA-500 device and I am trying to update the firmware from 6.0.2 to 6.1.0 from USB. I have tried the following below and still having issues.

1. Directly download into the firewall
2. Download firmware from laptop/desktop

I was wondering though seeing that there is a USB port on the device itself if I could try it from there? I plugged
the USB directly into the device but having trouble finding the USB to get the software I need. I am trying to find
it in the GUI and cannot see it so I assume I can access this through the CLI? Any thoughts, suggestions or
documentation would be helpful.

Thank you for all your help!
lzabler

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

As per @bmorris1  comment you only can use USB port for Bootstrapping and only if you do have a 7.1.x or above PAN-OS (and not only as an iPhone charger)). Can you try to reinstall already existing PAN-OS from the Software tab? Then try again by manual option. l did it before many times and had no problems. 

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

L6 Presenter

Hi,

l usually charge my iPhone over that USB port as l could not find any other use of it.  hardware guide says: USB port for future use.

Why do you fail to upgrade when trying direct download or manual? 

Thx,

Myky

L4 Transporter

Hi Luke,

The USB port at the moment is used only for bootstrapping which is supported in versions 7.1.0 and upwards. And as TranceForLife says, charging your iPhone in the data centre 😉

https://www.paloaltonetworks.com/documentation/71/pan-os/pan-os/firewall-administration/bootstrap-th...