How to disable config sync in a HA pair?

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to disable config sync in a HA pair?

L3 Networker

Hello,

I'am using to PAN devices in a HA pair, and i want to make some changes on one and not on the other before doing a switchover. Can i disable only config synchronisation and let all the other HA functionality up?

Regrds.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

L5 Sessionator

There isn't a command to disable synchronization of the configs as that would defeat the purpose of the HA pair.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

L5 Sessionator

You can suspend the passive device and make your changes.  The configs will synch once you make suspended device functional again.  >request high-availability state suspend  > request high-availability state functional.  You can also disable HA by unchecking "Enable HA"  on the Device tab >High Availability.

Thank you Rice,

But my need, is to maintain the HA pair functional (the heart beat), and to disable only the config synchronisation, is it possible?

Regards.

L5 Sessionator

There isn't a command to disable synchronization of the configs as that would defeat the purpose of the HA pair.

Of course you can disable synchronisation of the configs in an HA pair, in fact it's required to migrate one to Panorama: https://docs.paloaltonetworks.com/panorama/9-1/panorama-admin/manage-firewalls/transition-a-firewall... 

 

From the CLI:

user@device(active)# set deviceconfig high-availability group configuration-synchronization enabled no

 

🙂

@mb_equatethis post was started in 2010, back then Acitve-Active didn't even exist yet. In the meanwhile , as you pointed out correctly, this option was added in the HA settings

 

2020-10-15_9-28-29.jpg

 

Tom Piens
PANgurus

I just realised that, d'oh!

 

This thread is archived
New comments cannot be posted and votes cannot be cast
Like what you see?

Show your appreciation!

Click Like if a post is helpful to you or if you just want to show your support.

Click Accept as Solution to acknowledge that the answer to your question has been provided.

The button appears next to the replies on topics you’ve started. The member who gave the solution and all future visitors to this topic will appreciate it!

These simple actions take just seconds of your time, but go a long way in showing appreciation for community members and the LIVEcommunity as a whole!

The LIVEcommunity thanks you for your participation!