Panorama - search and replace?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Panorama - search and replace?

L0 Member

I'm kind of new to PaloAlto firewalls and I am looking for guidance on how to help with a little situation. As part of our migration, we had to create a bunch of security-zones that parallel what is on the system already. It was a cludgy, but functional work around.  OK, so what I have now is zones like this:

Corporate

xxxxCorporate

where "xxxx" is a litterally that string prefixed onto the OLD zones.  So now I have my Panorama instance and a couple hundred policies that have to and from zones that I need to shift to the new correct zone.  Aside from clicking though each policy and adjusting the settings, is there a way to edit them in bulk? 

On my Juniper SRX's I would just use the "replace pattern xxxxCorp with Corp" globally through the config. Can I do something like that in Panorama?

Thanks!

2 REPLIES 2

L4 Transporter

you should just be able to rename the zone itself. the policies reference a pointer, like a number/index, not literally the name itself. the only thing i believe that wouldn't be affected is historical data (i.e. the logs).

if you need both old and new zones in parallel for some reason, I don't know of a search/replace functionality per se, but you can always export the configuration as an xml file, open it up in notepad++ or something like that (xml is just basically text in a format like html in case you didn't know), search/replace and then import it back in. just take the necessary pre-cautions, of course.

--
CCNA Security, PCNSE7

OK, good enough.  I just exported it and edited externally and reimported. Kind of a pain that there isn't a way to do that in the command line, but i'll take what I can get.  Thanks.

• 2 replies
  • 0 Likes
Like what you see?

Show your appreciation!