Terminal Services for Windows Server 2008

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Terminal Services for Windows Server 2008

Not applicable

Our current setup for terminal services for Windows Server 2008 is setup through our ISA 2004 firewall. We plan to move to the PA-500 and and the Terminal Services Agent only works for Windows Server 2003, is there anything we can do to fix this?

12 REPLIES 12

L3 Networker

Wait until PANOS 3.1 is released in a week or two which I assume its ts-agent software will support 2008 (unless it already does)? 🙂

Windows 2008 is not supported in 3.0 or 3.1. It is something that is being worked on for a release later in the year.

Mike

Is there a fix that I could use for now? Can I make a rule on the firewall that directs to a specific port to the terminal server? I am new at this, I used to use ISA Server 2004 and it had that as a feature.

You can set "source user = any" as workaround.

Another method would be to use captive portal along with ntlm but I dunno if pan-agent will work on 2008 or if it have the same issues as ts-agent.

Is there any more specific term than "later this year"? Because it's 2010, and more and more people are starting to use Windows 2008 server.

The most detail I can provide at this point would be to take the r off of the previous statement and say late this year.

We are running into this more and more and it is a priority. It also turns out to be a decent amount of work due to changes in the OS between 2003 and 2008.

Mike

Not applicable

This firewall is great, I just have small issues with them catching up to the current Server software. Terminal Server is a big deal where I work at, every officer on the road remotes in to get things done. I have to wait until 3.1 before I can put this in production.