Unable to delete old software image.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to delete old software image.

L4 Transporter

Hi.

Following a recent discussion regarding disk space on the forums, I decided I'd delete some old software images off my PA which are no longer in use.

Trouble is, one of them won't delete!

Has anyone seen the following error message when attempting to delete an old image?

"Can't purge image 'panos-3.1.6' installed on active or backup sysroot"

The device is currently running 3.1.8.

I can't seem to find a CLI command to allow delete of old images. Is there one?

Thanks

4 REPLIES 4

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

Hi

you can delete old software via cli by using "delete software version"

however: when upgrading the new image is installed on a different partition (sysroot) than the active one, this allows you to, in case of upgrade failure, roll back to the previous software without the need to reistall and keep working during the install without the need for immediate outage. That's also the reason you are not able to delete 3.1.6 as it is still installed on the alternate (backup) sysroot partition.

regards

Tom

Tom Piens
PANgurus

tpiens wrote:

Hi

you can delete old software via cli by using "delete software version"

however: when upgrading the new image is installed on a different partition (sysroot) than the active one, this allows you to, in case of upgrade failure, roll back to the previous software without the need to reistall and keep working during the install without the need for immediate outage. That's also the reason you are not able to delete 3.1.6 as it is still installed on the alternate (backup) sysroot partition.

regards

Tom

So how do I get rid of the old software, then?

Am I unable to delete 3.1.6 until I upgrade *past* 3.1.8? The "delete software version" command from CLI gives the same result - an error which reads "Can't purge image 'panos-3.1.6' installed on active or backup sysroot"

I have no need (nor do I perceive the likelihood of a need) to rollback to 3.1.6.

Thanks

@dagibbs:

I have researched the question that you brought up and you should be able to delete the software image on the active partition even if it is the installed version on the revert partition.

If you cannot, please open a case with the PAN Tech Support team.

Thank you,

Benjamin

bpappas wrote:

@dagibbs:

I have researched the question that you brought up and you should be able to delete the software image on the active partition even if it is the installed version on the revert partition.

If you cannot, please open a case with the PAN Tech Support team.

Thank you,

Benjamin

Benjamin.

Have now done so. Thank you for your input.

Like what you see?

Show your appreciation!

Click Like if a post is helpful to you or if you just want to show your support.

Click Accept as Solution to acknowledge that the answer to your question has been provided.

The button appears next to the replies on topics you’ve started. The member who gave the solution and all future visitors to this topic will appreciate it!

These simple actions take just seconds of your time, but go a long way in showing appreciation for community members and the LIVEcommunity as a whole!

The LIVEcommunity thanks you for your participation!