virtual wire default-vwire is missing one or more interfaces

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

virtual wire default-vwire is missing one or more interfaces

L0 Member

Hello,

I'm new to Palo Alto firewalls but I need to know it for work purposes.

I am currently working on a Palo Alto PA-220 Firewall. I'm at the very beginning stages of this configuration. 

I keep getting an error message everytime I try to configure my first internal LAN port (ethernet1/2). This happens after I click the "commit" button. Please point me in the right direction. 

Commit Error.JPG

6 REPLIES 6

L7 Applicator

Hi @finsfree

Delete the default vwire and reset ethernet1/1 to default config. Then you should be good to go for the commit.

I did deleted the default vwire. I'm not exactly sure how to reset ethernet1/1 to default. Just with me deleting the default vwire this is the error message I am getting after the "commit" (see image).

Basically, I would like to have ethernet1/1 be a DHCP client to my ISP and ethernet1/2 be my LAN port with an IP address 10.0.0.1.

Commit Error2.JPGInterfaces.JPG

You did delete the vwire from here right?

Screenshot_20181029-002427_Chrome.jpg

And here are some links that might also help you to get started with your PA-220: https://live.paloaltonetworks.com/t5/Community-Blog/Getting-Started-The-Palo-Alto-Networks-Firewall-...

I got it working kind of....

I'm getting a better understanding of this firewall now.

The part I am stuck on now is getting the 2 port to talk to each other. I mean I can't get out to the internet yet.

My setup:

• ethernet1/1 WAN is a DHCP Client to my ISP
  • ethernet1/2 is my LAN 10.0.0.1 (also my DHCP Server 10.0.0.50 - 10.0.0.100/24)