When does a rule go unused

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

When does a rule go unused

L2 Linker

I have a number of rules that are showing unused.  I've read the threads on the counter resets etc. but I'm still looking for a definitive answer - hence my post.  When does a rule become marked as unsed?  Is it after a month, 2 months, a year, since boot?  Is there a setting I can adjust to say a rule is unused after X amount of time?

Thanks,

Bart

3 REPLIES 3

L6 Presenter

Bart...The unused rules are counted from last reboot time.

There is a pre-defined report called 'Security Rules' which highlights the active rules for the day.  You can use that report to track the activity of the rules.

Thanks.

show report predefined name equal does not have 'Security Rules' - where is the pre-defined report?

Hello,

The report he was referring to is found by going to the monitor tab -> clicking reports -> clicking Traffic Reports on the right -> and finally clicking "Security Rules".

This shows you how many sessions and bytes went over each rule. Using this you should be able to gauge how long it's been since the rule has been used.


Thanks,

Jason

  • 2359 Views
  • 3 replies
  • 0 Likes
  • 101 Subscriptions
Like what you see?

Show your appreciation!

Click Like if a post is helpful to you or if you just want to show your support.

Click Accept as Solution to acknowledge that the answer to your question has been provided.

The button appears next to the replies on topics you’ve started. The member who gave the solution and all future visitors to this topic will appreciate it!

These simple actions take just seconds of your time, but go a long way in showing appreciation for community members and the LIVEcommunity as a whole!

The LIVEcommunity thanks you for your participation!