YouTube uploading rule failed...

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

YouTube uploading rule failed...

L3 Networker

Hello,

recently for testing purposes I create Youtube-uploading rule in order to deny all video uploading's to Youtube server. My disappointing grew when I saw that all video uploading's pass my rule, also when I login on my Gmail through Google Chrome, all Data filtering rules was passed, and I can attach any of forbidden files. With other app's I have no such "bad" experience. Maybe I wrong, but maybe Google use like Skype, some proprietary encryption for communication with server.

Is enyone has the same or similar issue?

I forgot to mention that I deploy ssl decryption rule, and they works well with all others...

PAN-500

PAN OS ver: 4.1.0

4 REPLIES 4

L4 Transporter

Hi There,

I would suggest a simple test.  You could create a rule on top just for your host machine (either with IP address or Source user) to deny youtube uploads.  If this works, it would be easy to figure out why it is not working.

The second thing would be to check if the rule placed in a strategical position.

Cheers...

Kal

Hi Kal,

thanks for the answer, but I already test position of my rule and explicit stated ip address of my test PC. Problem is following, when I login on Youtube in order to upload, I'm using my Gmail credentials, not Youtube login. When I do that especially through Google chrome  browser, my youtube-uploading rule failing and pass uploads. So in this circumstances I suspect that some proprietary encryption is inline. On monitor traffic tab I can't find or filter any matching behavior of youtube-uploading, just youtube-base port 80 or web browsing.         

Well, I would test out in the following manner:

1.  Can I upload a video using youtube credentials (not to bother with browsers).