Creating BIOC Rule for Large FTP Sessions

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Creating BIOC Rule for Large FTP Sessions

L0 Member

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to Cortex XDR and looking to enhance our network security alerts. I want to create a BIOC rule that triggers an alert whenever a data transfer larger than 100MB occurs between two devices (Local IP to Remote IP). This will help us monitor potentially malicious data transfers or data exfiltration.

While we receive XDR Analytic Alerts for certain applications like Microsoft Teams uploading large amounts of data to remote servers, I'd like to implement a similar alerting mechanism for FTP/SFTP or any file transfer protocol.

Currently, I'm using a query example from the Query Library (attached), but it's not providing results for FTP. It works when I replace "FTP" with "SMB" or other protocols.

Is there something I'm missing, or do I need to set up the FTP Collector apllet on the BrokerVM to achieve this goal?

Your insights and guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Just to clarify: I want an alert when data uploaded/downloaded is more than a certain size displaying Local and Remote IP table.

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

L3 Networker

Hi GoatBloke, 

There is an existing Analytics alert for Large Upload (FTP) where our analytics engine identifies anomalous upload activity outside of the activity baseline established for the endpoint. 

The Cortex XDR - Analytics alerts are detect-only and are heavily dependent upon receiving logs from network devices that would have been involved in transmitting the exfiltrated files. Please ensure that you have the appropriate license and onboarded NGFW logs to your tenant. Ingesting logs from Next-Generation Firewall requires a Cortex XDR Pro per GB license.