Multiple NAT and Private IP Addressing - Help Needed

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Multiple NAT and Private IP Addressing - Help Needed

Hi,

I'm relatively new to PA firewalls, so please forgive me if this is not explained well.

I have a PA-500 with PANOS 5.0.0. Im using three interfaces at present - e1/1 - internal network, e1/2 - Internet untrust, e1/3 internet untrust (private ip 169.254.0.1/32)

At present I have my rules configured and my NAT commands for my internet connection on e1/2 and this works fine. Both e1/1 and e1/2 are under a single virtual router, which also has an 0.0.0/0 route outbound. On this connection I have NAT inbound mapping ssl and other services to internal servers on the internal network (192.168.1.x) with no problems.

However, it happens that our email is delivered on the second internet connection, which is government-based, and uses a private addressing scheme.

I set up this connection as like the first, and added it to the default VR - cloned the nat policies and security policies, and changed the pointers. However no mail will come inbound. Furthermore, I cannot ping anything on this 169.254 range. Ive double-checked the NAT statements and all seem in order.

In the first instance I thought that maybe my addresses were being translated by the first nat rule, so I added a nat translation only applicable to connections going to that network on 169.254.x.x, and ran the check NAT commands via the command-line. All checked out and the nat was being translated into the 169.254.x.x address on e1/3 correctly.