Networking-UDRs-in-Azure-Inserting-the-VM-Series-into-an-Azure

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Networking-UDRs-in-Azure-Inserting-the-VM-Series-into-an-Azure

L1 Bithead

Hi Team,

I am new to Paloalto and have some queries with regards to deployment of Paloalto on VM series Firewall on Azure.

https://www.paloaltonetworks.com/documentation/71/virtualization/virtualization/set-up-the-vm-series...

Upon search we found

> The VM-Series firewall in Azure does not support native VM Monitoring capabilities for virtual machines that are hosted in Azure.

> VM-Series high availability configuration is not supported to avoid downtime during plannned/unplanned maintainance.

The way of solution is to have Azure application gateway in front of the VM series firewall

https://www.paloaltonetworks.com/documentation/71/virtualization/virtualization/set-up-the-vm-series...

Queries that i had in mind:

1. If HA cannot be configured between the VM's( that might be 2 or 3) that are deployed in the VM Series firewall, how the configurations gets replicated between the firewall running on separate VM's?

2. How is the session state maintained when a connection is initiated from App gateway?

3. We want user defined routing between subnets and next hop should pass through Paloalto firewall (internal subnet- Trusted). What is the next hop address that we put if each VM in the VM series firewall with Paloalto holds a different IP address?

Refer to the subnet example in the link below

Thanks in advance

11 REPLIES 11

Palo Alto Networks Guru

There are several options for high availability in Azure.  Check out our cloud integration page and expand the Azure section for some examples: https://live.paloaltonetworks.com/t5/Public-Cloud-Integration/ct-p/Cloud_Templates