Cortex XDR unable to detect nbns spoofing using kali linux responder

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Cortex XDR unable to detect nbns spoofing using kali linux responder

L1 Bithead

Hello, I am new to Cortex XDR, I  just installed it. I tried nbns spoofing on a pc with Cortex XDR and it did not stop or detect it. My previous test with Symantec was detected and stopped. Any thoughts on this? 

8 REPLIES 8

L4 Transporter

Hi @tech_noob-

Can you please provide a little more context?  Let's start with which Cortex XDR license type(s) are you running?  

https://docs.paloaltonetworks.com/cortex/cortex-xdr/cortex-xdr-prevent-admin/cortex-xdr-prevent-over...

David Falcon 
Senior Solutions Architect, Cortex
Palo Alto Networks® 

I am using XDR prevent currently. My vendor made an error we are supposed to  get pro and I am waiting for the upgrade in the next week or so.

L3 Networker

Im curious what was detected on the endpoint for symantec to identify it as malicious behavior and stop it?

My understanding is that responder is listening for those multicast queries from your endpoint and responding when received.

Yes, Symantec detected it and stopped it on the endpoint. We upgraded our Cortex to Pro and I will test again under Cortex Pro maybe it will detect it as BIOC on the endpoint. I will post the result. 

Please comment when you have the results we have prevent and many of the web servers will not detect attacks at the network level with this protection

L1 Bithead