Cortex XDR - Whitelist services in properway

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Cortex XDR - Whitelist services in properway

L0 Member

Hi All 😄
I'm new to Cortex XDR Hub and i'm trying to manage somes clients in the right way.

I got this situation:
There are some clients who had used IoBit - DriverBooster for the drivers installation on the machine.
A lot of services about this application it's matched like Greyware or "Bad signature"
Soo for first step i checked all the services who were blocked from Cortex, and later, i signed all of this in the default white list.

Everything works fine...but, when the application start the update the Hash signature of the services change soo i need to put the new hash in the white list again.

I Saw there is the possibility to choose the name of the services i want sign like "white list" but the question is:
If the service change name? 
I think in this case Cortex will not white list the service i would...

Is there any solution maybe i don't know? 🙂 
Thanks for all the answers 😁

2 REPLIES 2

L2 Linker

Hello @mgussoni,

Here's my two cents.

A couple of things that I believe you should consider when whitelisting.

Try to see whitelisting as a last resort, this will keep your organization safer and will slowly enforce better security practice from product development team you deal with.