Cortex XDR

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Cortex XDR

L1 Bithead

Hi people,

1) I have installed the cortex XDR on end user PC and when I tried to scan email attachment on the end user PC I am not able to see any option to scan email attachment. I am a system Admin and I want the end user to scan email attachment with cortex. At present I have to download the attachment and do scan with cortex. I don't want to download this email attachment and scan the attachment whole without download. Any suggestion how can I make this scan with cortex comes when I right click on email attachment please. 

2) How can I block and allow USB drive from Cortex management portal?

2 REPLIES 2

L1 Bithead

Hello prasad.

If you aim is to block USB drive, you can configure that by creating a agent setting policy in the policy management pane.

Go to endpoint-->policy management --> choose your OS-->Agent settings--> Agent security.

Hope this helps.

Hi @lprasad ,

I would disagree with @NagaVenkatesh answer. Agent settings profile is generally defining XDR agent behavior (GUI interface, agent auto update, disk quota etc). Agent Security specifically define agent tampering protection - protect files, folders and processes used by the XDR agent from unauthorized modification or even opening/reading.

With Agent settings profile -> User interface you can define if end user will have the option for "scan with cortex xdr" when right click on a file (basically allowing on-demand file scan by end user).

I don't believe Cortex XDR is capable of scanning file attachment, without saving the file first, or opening it. I would say your requirement is little hard to achieve. Someone may correct me but my understanding is a follow:

- File is attached to email by encoding the file and adding it to the email body, which is simple text