BGP Configuration Help

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

BGP Configuration Help

L1 Bithead

Hi

I am not a network engineer by no means and have setup basic BGP in the past with various peers with the peers being the source of truth for all routes.

I have a situation were our primary firewall has been using static routes for everything, default to internet, specific to DMZ, and all others to internal core switches. With the core switches having a default route pointing to the firewall.

The firewall has BGP setup to several of our Cloud solutions, and only being distributed to the firewall.

We not want to enable BGP between the core switches and the firewall. The network team wants the Firewall to redistribute all its static routes to the core switches, with a few exceptions. At the same time we need to distribute the same static routes to our Prisma, while denying specific ones to both the core and Prisma and the Cloud (ie. aws). I know we need to setup a redistribution profile to include all local static routes we want to advertise. Then setup export rules. This is were I have been having some issues, on the best way to implement these exports rules. If I use a permit rule for prisma and core, then I would need to include all the static routes, all the routes that would be learning from the cores and the routes learning from the existing Cloud. Then was thinking maybe using just a deny rule to restrict the learned routes, whether from local static or core, making  so everything else being distributed to everywhere else (i.e. core, prisma etc). Any guidance would be helpful... Thank you

2 REPLIES 2

Hi @DavidMaas1 ,