Change VR name

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Change VR name

L1 Bithead

Hello,

I have a 5250 with 3 Virtual Routers that talk with each other and one L3 switch via BGP.

I have to change the name of one of the VRs, this activity generate outage on the BGP and/or the active sessions managed by the VR?
I found these info:
"What renaming a virtual router does in reality is deletes the router and readds one with the same config, so in essence you’re not restarting bgp but stopping one instance and creating another"

"Like zones, if you rename a VR, traffic will drop until the new configuration is pushed to the firewalls"

Seems that rename a VR or a SecZone generate services outage.
I'm right? If yes based on your experience I need to ask to customer a Maintenance window?
Note: the 5250 cluster is managed by a Panorama.

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Community Team Member

Hi @Charlie80 ,

 

If you would like to rename VR or Security Zones, please set up a maintenance window to implement the change. All active sessions that reference the old VR will also need to be cleared. I would recommend changing the VR names during a maintenance window and clearing all sessions. 

 

LIVEcommunity team member
Stay Secure,
Jay
Don't forget to Like items if a post is helpful to you!

View solution in original post

1 REPLY 1

Community Team Member

Hi @Charlie80 ,

 

If you would like to rename VR or Security Zones, please set up a maintenance window to implement the change. All active sessions that reference the old VR will also need to be cleared. I would recommend changing the VR names during a maintenance window and clearing all sessions. 

 

LIVEcommunity team member
Stay Secure,
Jay
Don't forget to Like items if a post is helpful to you!
Like what you see?

Show your appreciation!

Click Like if a post is helpful to you or if you just want to show your support.

Click Accept as Solution to acknowledge that the answer to your question has been provided.

The button appears next to the replies on topics you’ve started. The member who gave the solution and all future visitors to this topic will appreciate it!

These simple actions take just seconds of your time, but go a long way in showing appreciation for community members and the LIVEcommunity as a whole!

The LIVEcommunity thanks you for your participation!