How to write a script for backup of initial settings of Palo alto firewall

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

How to write a script for backup of initial settings of Palo alto firewall

L1 Bithead

Hello everyone,

Please help me in writing a script for backup of initial settings of Palo alto firewall.

I am new in network security, requesting you to help me.

Br//

Ashutosh

5 REPLIES 5

L4 Transporter

@ashutosh321993 You can backup the running config of a firmware resetted Palo Alto by going to Device > System > Operations > Export named config > running config.

You get a xml-file with that config.

Why do you want to write a script for it?

Best Regards
Chacko

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

@ashutosh321993,

As @Chacko42 stated you can backup the configuration through the GUI with ease, utilize the CLI, script the interaction via the API, or utilize the pandevice Python library to grab a copy of the configuration. Do you actually need this to be a script or does the GUI work for what you are doing? 

Hi BPry,

Thanks for your reply!!

Actually writing a script is my project which is assigned to me. This is basically for taking the backup of those configuration which we have to do manually while replacing the firewall in network.

Actually I dont have any knowledge of scripting.Kindly guide me to complete this task.

Hi Chacko,

Thanks for your reply!!

Actually writing a script is my project which is assigned to me. This is basically for taking the backup of those configuration which we have to do manually while replacing the firewall in network.

Actually I dont have any knowledge of scripting.Kindly guide me to complete this task.

@ashutosh321993 wrote:

Hi BPry,