PA-3020 log retention period

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

PA-3020 log retention period

L1 Bithead

Hi Experts,

I am quite new to Palo Alto and I have some queries regarding the URL filter log retention, before we can generate user activty reports for browsed URLs for more than two weeks old, but now we can only see URL filter logs up to no more than 4 days.

What affects the log retention period and how can we generate a month old User Activity report for a specific user if logs are not present anymore.

19 REPLIES 19

L6 Presenter

Log retention is affected only by space on disk. When you run out of it PA automaticaly deletes oldest entries in that specific log, whether it's traffic, threat, URL...

You can adjust the reserved space for each type of log in Device -> Setup -> Management tab -> Logging and Reporting Settings

Within the limits of your hard drive capacity of course.

Hi Santonic, thanks for the response.

So does this means that we suddenly have an huge amount of increase in traffic that cause the retention from more than 2 weeks to just 4days?

Also which one of this affects the url filter.

> show system logdb-quota

Quotas:
system: 4.00%, 3.356 GB
config: 4.00%, 3.356 GB
alarm: 3.00%, 2.517 GB
appstat: 6.00%, 5.034 GB
hip-reports: 1.00%, 0.839 GB
traffic: 32.00%, 26.850 GB
threat: 16.00%, 13.425 GB
trsum: 7.00%, 5.873 GB
hourlytrsum: 3.00%, 2.517 GB
dailytrsum: 1.00%, 0.839 GB
weeklytrsum: 1.00%, 0.839 GB
thsum: 2.00%, 1.678 GB
hourlythsum: 1.00%, 0.839 GB
dailythsum: 1.00%, 0.839 GB
weeklythsum: 1.00%, 0.839 GB
userid: 1.00%, 0.839 GB
application-pcaps: 1.00%, 0.839 GB
extpcap: 1.00%, 0.839 GB
debug-filter-pcaps: 1.00%, 0.839 GB
dlp-logs: 1.00%, 0.839 GB
hipmatch: 3.00%, 2.517 GB

Hmm, good question. All URL related log files seem to be 'summary' type.