Panorama Security Rules Export in Human Readable Format- Excel Sheet

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Panorama Security Rules Export in Human Readable Format- Excel Sheet

L1 Bithead

Hi,

I am new to Palto Alto. I have a requirement to download security rules of several firewalls so it can be viewed bu audit teams.

I have downloaded the running configuration file of target firewalls I need and I have been able to format the output into a searchable excel file.

However, when I was looking at the security rule output I noticed it was missing security rules at were pushed from Panorama. 

How can I get these panorama rules exported them as I did with local firewall config ?

Thanks a mil 

6 REPLIES 6

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

@HosseinMohajer,

There isn't really a good way of gathering the post- pre- and running-config, as you are trully looking for the mergesp.xml file. The only way that I know of to actually get this is by pulling the tech-support file. 

L4 Transporter

I once wrote a powershell script that downloaded the security policies from a firewall using the API and created a CSV of the ruleset - I do not have it available to me at this time, but it didn't take terribly long to do.  powershell parses the XML into a collection of collections that makes it "easy" to iterate through the ruleset and pull the properties you are interested in.

A few resources to get you started, if you are interested:

Palo API documentation: https://www.paloaltonetworks.com/documentation/80/pan-os/xml-api

Invoke-RestMethod, to make the API calls and get information from firewall: https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com/heyscriptingguy/2013/10/21/invokerestmethod-for-the-rest-of-us/

ForEach, to loop through items in a collection: https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com/heyscriptingguy/2014/04/28/basics-of-powershell-looping-foreach/