Uninstall GlobalProtect when 'Uninstall is not allowed'

Reply
Highlighted
L4 Transporter

Uninstall GlobalProtect when 'Uninstall is not allowed'

How can we remove GP from systems if its configured to not allow uninstall. We have students who are given laptop with GP installed, but as they leave its their property and GP needs to be uninstalled from them. 


Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Cyber Elite

@raji_toor,

I would personally set this to the 'allow with password' option so that you can simply provide the password to anyone that should actually be allowed to install the agent, or simply utilize that password to uninstall it when needed. 

 

You're going to want to go into the following registry path 'Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Palo Alto Networks\GlobalProtect\Settings\portal' and set the Uninstall REG_DWORD value to 0 to remove this manually. You'll need to restart the agent services or restart the machine to read the new value, but that's the equivalent of setting 'Allow' in the app settings on the portal.  

View solution in original post


All Replies
Highlighted
Cyber Elite

@raji_toor,

I would personally set this to the 'allow with password' option so that you can simply provide the password to anyone that should actually be allowed to install the agent, or simply utilize that password to uninstall it when needed. 

 

You're going to want to go into the following registry path 'Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Palo Alto Networks\GlobalProtect\Settings\portal' and set the Uninstall REG_DWORD value to 0 to remove this manually. You'll need to restart the agent services or restart the machine to read the new value, but that's the equivalent of setting 'Allow' in the app settings on the portal.  

View solution in original post

Highlighted
L4 Transporter

Thanks @BPry 

Like what you see?

Show your appreciation!

Click Like if a post is helpful to you or if you just want to show your support.

Click Accept as Solution to acknowledge that the answer to your question has been provided.

The button appears next to the replies on topics you’ve started. The member who gave the solution and all future visitors to this topic will appreciate it!

These simple actions take just seconds of your time, but go a long way in showing appreciation for community members and the Live Community as a whole!

The Live Community thanks you for your participation!