VPN to AWS with BGP

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

VPN to AWS with BGP

L1 Bithead

Hello,

I have 3 locations that I need to create VPNs to AWS for.  Each location is dual ISP using PBF.   Since AWS uses 2 tunnels each VPN connection, seems there will be 4 total tunnels per location (2 per ISP).  My initial thought was to use static routing but I'd like to avoid any asymmetric routing from AWS.  In these locations, we are using static routing from the palo alto firewalls to each site's core switch. I have some BGP knowledge but never needed to configure on PAN before.  

Here's a little about my 2 of my locations setup

Site A Core SW has the following subnets 10.10.10.0/24, 10.10.11.0/24, 10.10.13.0/24 -  10.10.20.0/24,  default route with next-hop of FW.'s trust interface.  In FW's default virtual router, there is a static route for 10.10.0.0/16 with a next-hop of Core SW IP and a default route 0.0.0.0/0 next hop of ISP2's DG

Site B Core SW has the following subnets 10.10.50.0/24, 10.10.55.0/24, 10.10.60.0/24 -  10.10.70.0/24,  default route with next-hop of FW.'s trust interface.  In FW's default virtual router, there is a static route for 10.10.0.0/16 with a next-hop of Core SW IP  and a default route 0.0.0.0/0 next hop of ISP2's DG

If I were to build the tunnels to AWS with BGP, my first questions are

•  can I use the default virtual router or do/should I create a new virtual router and add the tunnel interfaces to that VR?