DGA Threat Alert

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

DGA Threat Alert

L0 Member

First off, I am fairly new to Palo Alto firewalls. Yesterday we received a number of alerts over a one minute period related to a Domain Generation Algorithm threat. The source was an internal IP address, the destination was an external IP address. The action taken was sinkhole. The rule was DNS Forwarders.

I don't fully understand what this is telling me. At first glance, it appears I may have something running on an internal device try to talk to a C&C server. However, it may also be something going on with the sinkhole.

Does anyone have any thoughts on what's going on or a resource that will help me better understand this threat? I've done some research on DGA threats and have a basic understanding of them, but not sure how it applies to what I'm seeing. 

Thanks, Kelley

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

Hello @kshaddrick

thank you for reply.

When it comes to getting details of the logs, the options limited. You can get more information by clicking on magnifying glass, then under: "Details", you can see what threat ID has triggered it. By clicking on: "View in Threat Vault" you can domain name. I personally use 3rd party commercial Threat Intel product to cross check URLs to get more details beyond what I can get from Firewall / Threat Vault. I randomly went through logs and with Action: sinkhole and Severity: medium, many of the domains were flagged with low indicator score in 3rd party Threat Intel platform. It is hard to judge, depending on size of your organization and end point types some of these alerts are expected. For example in my case most of these are coming from guest subnets.