Asking for best practice regarding editing multiple interfaces of a FW HA pair which is managed by Panorama

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Asking for best practice regarding editing multiple interfaces of a FW HA pair which is managed by Panorama

L1 Bithead

Hi,

We have a FW HA pair which we want to put under Panorama's management.
However, this pair will have to undergo interfaces editing in a few weeks - putting individual interfaces in aggregate interfaces.
If there was no Panorama, I would have edited the FW settings via CLI, commited, and it would have got replicated to the other FW.

I have some experience with Panorama and FW HA management. The templates of each node would be placed under the same template stack.
When working Panorama what I want to do with the interfaces might be more challenging as the settings must be edited on the templates.

My questions are:
• Should I edit each FW template separately, commit to panorama and push to devices? I assume this would be most labor intense but the cleanest. This is very inconvenient and time consuming, of course.
• Is there a way to edit interfaces on the primary FW node, and push it to update Panorama template settings? I assume that not.
• Is it recommended in a case of HA pair to completely remove network management from Panorama?

I'm asking for a good solution.
Than you.

2 accepted solutions

Accepted Solutions

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

Hi @Yevgeny_Libov ,

Here is a good document on migrating a standalone HA pair to Panorama -> https://docs.paloaltonetworks.com/panorama/10-2/panorama-admin/manage-firewalls/transition-a-firewal....

There are some best practices that we can learn from it.