Custom Application ports secure at Layer 7?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Custom Application ports secure at Layer 7?

L4 Transporter

Hi folks,

We have created an Application override and custom Application for SIP and RTP traffic.  We also have Security/NAT rules that allow only this application (ports 5060, 5061, and 6000-8000) access to an internal VM with public IP directly.

As I am still learning PA, wanted to ask.  Since we are using an Application (and override) that we created to open these ports, does PA still protect at the Application layer 7?

Will PA reject traffic from any other application to this server destination that may be using these same ports (maliciously)?

Application override policy rule.  Added ports 6000-8000.

SIP1.jpg

Application itself.  Added ports 6000-8000

SIP2.jpg

Security rule for Inbound SBC traffic.

pasbcrule.jpg

NAT rule for Inbound SBC traffic.

PAnatrule.jpg

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

L4 Transporter

So there's a lot going on here, so please feel free to correct me on anything I may be misunderstanding here.

First and foremost, by using an application override policy, that traffic is now exempt from _both_ AppID and ContentID inspection. So yes, you lose layer 7 protection by using the application override policy. If it was strictly a custom App, it would still be subject to ContentID.

(ETA: I'm struggling to find the exact phrasing as such anywhere, but I am fairly confident this is the case. The closest I could find is this:

An application override with a custom application will prevent the session from being processed by the App-ID engine, which is a Layer-7 inspection. Instead it forces the firewall to handle the session as a regular stateful inspection firewall at Layer-4, and thereby saves application processing time.