Difference Of Applications "ms-ds-smb", "ms-ds-smb-base" and ms-ds-smbv1, ms-ds-smbv2, ms-ds-smbv3

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Difference Of Applications "ms-ds-smb", "ms-ds-smb-base" and ms-ds-smbv1, ms-ds-smbv2, ms-ds-smbv3

L2 Linker

Apologies ahead of time- I'm very new to Palo Alto's firewalls...I've built several CIFS rules (based upon/cloned) from existing rules created by somewhat more senior PAN co-workers. I've asked them the following question but haven't gotten an answer I'm comfortable with, and was hoping somewhere here could set things right in my mind: When I'm attempting to allow CIFS file sharing, there's choices for Applications of ms-ds-smb, ms-ds-msb-base, then the different version numbers? Does md-ds-smb cover ALL versions of smb (v1, v2 and v3). When is ms-ds-smb-base needed? 

I've also seen where the incumbant PAN coworkers have sometimes simply defined a service TCP Port 445 in rules. My guess would be that a service of TCP Port 445 doesn't do any application validation, and defining it as an Application is preferred?

Thanks for the enlightenment ahead of time....

Mike

2 accepted solutions

Accepted Solutions

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

@michaelmertens,

The answers you seek can be found under the Objects tab under Applications or via Palo Alto's applipedia 

ms-ds-smb = This is an app container for smb-base, smbv1, smbv2, smbv3. 

ms-ds-smb-base: Think of this as a building block that will almost always need to be allowed. This essentially gives the firewall something to identify before we're able to tell what version of smb is being utilized.