How to configure PaloAlto to Fail-over to another ISP on a remote location

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

How to configure PaloAlto to Fail-over to another ISP on a remote location

L2 Linker

I'm new in using PaloAlto Firewall. We have to sites that have it's own dedicated ISP connections and I've been task to configure the PAN firewall to route the Internet connections to another ISP if the main internet connections encounter a connectivity problem.

HQ1 RT1-------PAN FW--------Internet RTR------------------ISP1

|

|

|  -> Connections between HQ1 and HQ2 is via internal MPLS and they're on different location

|

|

HQ2 RT2-------PAN FW--------Internet RTR------------------ISP2

Is it possible to configure VPN Tunnel between the two PA FW and used PBF?

Any feedback are highly appreciated

Cheers,

Erwin

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

More thoughts:

1. The vpn would build on the internal interfaces since the ISP for one side is down.
    - You’re correct, I’m planning to build the tunnel via the Internal Interface on PAN Firewall
  2. The PA default route for the down ISP goes into the tunnel
    - I’m planning to used PBF together with the built-in monitor to track the site ISP connections and once it is down, default route will be routed to VPN Tunnel. Do I need to create two PBF for this scenario?
    There is only one PBF and one default route in this scenario on each device.  this is what is outlined in the tech note.
    Dual ISP Branch Office Configuration

3. On the PA with good ISP - return traffic to the other site needs to go into the vpn instead of the MPLS or the tunnel will be asymmetrical and fail
    - If I enable “Enforce Symmetric Return in PFB Rule? Does it reduce the complexity that you mention?