Potential firewall performance issues when using FQDNs?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Potential firewall performance issues when using FQDNs?

L1 Bithead

I'm new to Palo Alto firewalls.  I'm setting up a PA-500 active/passive HA cluster, replacing an HA cluster of Sidewinder v7 (McAfee Firewall Enterprise) firewalls.  I know from many years of experience with that type of firewall and from talking to tech support that using network objects of the FQDN type (requiring DNS lookups) is a bad thing for firewall performance, and has even caused us major downtime in the past.  Is using FQDN objects in Palo Alto (PanOS 4.1.4) a similarly bad thing?  It must have to perform DNS lookups at some time, but this is also why they can be handy, so I don't have to try to keep IP addresses up-to-date in the firewall.

4 REPLIES 4

L6 Presenter

To my knowledge the dataplane of PA never uses FQDNs.

What happends is that the mgmtplane of the PA will perform dns lookups during commit in order to "convert" the FQDN into ip address before programming the asic/fpga.

In my opinion you should avoid using FQDNs.

You could of course name your network object to a FQDN but assign a static ip to this object.

The point is that imagine what would happen if someone tempers with your dns so it will resolve server.example.com into 0.0.0.0 (hopefully not that much unless you use something else than /32 as mask) but lets say the ip is suddently to some other protected server on the same zone?

I believe the IP address is determined at commit time.. and then again periodically according to the TTL of the DNS record. I wouldnt expect much of a performance hit.. though cant say I've tested with more then a handful of FQDN objects..