Prisma Cloud Compute function scan on Azure does not detect change in package.json dependency

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Prisma Cloud Compute function scan on Azure does not detect change in package.json dependency

L2 Linker

Prisma Cloud newbie here. I'm trying to figure out why the vulnerability scan for functions in Prisma Cloud does not detect changes to a CVE that was fixed in a dependency of an Azure function app in our environment. It does detect the Azure function in question, so the connection to Azure seems to be in order. The function is written in javascript, so I assume prisma cloud should be scanning the package.json/package-lock.json files to determine dependencies. But the only way I get Prisma Cloud to detect a change to the status of the CVE is by removing and re-adding the Azure scope of the function scan.

steps I've tried:

1. Add our Azure account to the function scan scope under Prisma cloud->Compute->Defend->Vulnerabilities->Functions. Prisma cloud starts a scan, finds the function and detects a CVE in one of the dependencies.
  2. I updated the dependency to a version where CVE was fixed and pushed the update to Azure (release happens through a pipeline, so this part is not changing between tests)
  3. Once new function code has been released, I click scan under Prisma Cloud->Compute->Monitor->Vulnerabilities. Prisma Cloud does the scan but once it's finished (refresh button has a red dot indicating new data), the CVE is still there. If I check the Package info for the function, it's still listing the old version of the dependency.
  4. I remove the Azure account from the function scan scope, click save, then add it back again and click save again. Prisma cloud starts another scan.