Dynamic interactive GUI elements in incident layouts?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Dynamic interactive GUI elements in incident layouts?

L2 Linker

I couldn't find anything in the documentation about this.  However, I'm brand new to XSOAR development, so maybe I'm missing it.  So, before I go digging more, can anyone let me know if this capability exists or not?

I want dynamic interactive elements on an incident layout.  The user should be able to pick one of multiple items that wouldn't be known until runtime, and the result of the user selection should be an argument to an automation.

In particular, I would like to to run a search for some incidents designated as "parent" incidents.  The result of the search should go into the layout with some way to select one.  This could be a button for each element, or a dropdown single-select item, or whatever.  The incident ID for the incident selected would be fed into an automation as an argument.

I'm not afraid of a little HTML or Javascript or other scripting, if that's what it takes.

So, is there a way to do this?

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

If I understand correctly, the following may help:

1. Create a new field that will be used as the selection drop down for the user and give it  some default values:

ABurt_0-1614416019988.png

2. Create a new automation script (yes automations = scripts and scripts = automations) and ensure it has the "field-display" tag:

ABurt_2-1614416457373.png

In the above script, the returned list options assumes that the field named "monitored_field" is available in the incident and that it is a list. It will also only display options for the field if it is part of an existing incident and not in the "create / new" incident form.

3. Assign the field-display script to the field:

ABurt_3-1614416530414.png