Clientless VPN and Java/Javascript

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Clientless VPN and Java/Javascript

L1 Bithead

Hi

We have a clientless VPN and app set up to use https on tcp 8443 but the page is not displaying at all. Connectivity has been proven end to end so all the rules are in place.

The app points to a webserver that hosts a portal and uses Javascript.

Some debugging was carried out on the client browser side and a comparison of going through the clientless VPN and not going through the VPN showed the Palo inserting various code. I know the Palo does URL re-writes but can anyone explain what the "pan_eval((function()" and "?gp-7" is? I guess it's something to do with Java but unfortunately I have no experience of it.

Many thanks.

Paul.

These are some of the extracts from the debug whilst going through the VPN and the inserted elements:

<script src="https://xxx.xxx.xxx.254/global-protect/vpn-js/pan_js_all_181s.js"></script><base href="/http-8443/xxx.xxx.xxx.31/aiv/">

<script type="text/javascript" src="assets/js/css-vars-ponyfill.min.js?gp-7"></script>

<script type="text/javascript">

pan_eval((function()

This whole content has been added by the Palo:

).toString().slice(12, -2),__pan_site_rules,1);</script>

<link rel="stylesheet" href="assets/css/vendor/katex.min.css" defer />

<link rel="stylesheet" href="assets/css/vendor/prism.css" defer />

<link rel="stylesheet" href="assets/css/vendor/notebook.css" defer />

<link rel="stylesheet" href="assets/css/nbpreview.css" defer />

<link rel="stylesheet" href="assets/css/cssvariables.css" />

<link rel="stylesheet" href="styles.css"></head>

This is where ?gp-7 added

<body>

<app-root></app-root>

<script src="assets/js/jquery-3.4.1.min.js?gp-7" defer></script>

<script src="assets/js/jquery.sparkline.min.js?gp-7" defer></script>