security policy between layer 2 zones

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

security policy between layer 2 zones

L1 Bithead

Hi, I am new to Palo Alto, so this might be a dumb question, below is the setup I have been trying to get it to work -

1. two layer2 zones; Zone1 and Zone2
  2. three PCs, PC1; PC2 and PC3
  3. PC1 in Zone1
  4. PC2 and PC3 are in Zone2
  5. all three PCs are on the same subnet

question: I am trying to create a security policy to only allow PC1 to talk to PC2, and deny everything else

is it doable? 

Thanks

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello.

Making progress though right?  😛  Not really.

I think I realized that I isolated you now, with vlan10 and vlan20 not being able forward arp/broadcast traffic.

So... back to original idea of 2 ports in a single L2 vlan on the FW.

So if PC1 is on port1 and PC2 is on port2 (both ports in same vlan on FW) then the following should happen.

PC1 attempts to ping PC2.

Not knowing his L2 mac address, he will arp out (broadcast)

Traffic ingress switch, egresses out the trunk port.

Aggregation switch should fwd (untagged tag) packet to port1 of FW.

FW will/should allow broadcast to go out port2 and reverse down trunk to PC2.

Once arp resolution is determined, then security policy should be something like like

SZ (fw_vlan) SA (PC1) ==> to DZ (fw_vlan) DA (PC2) ==> app of ping ==> application-default a ==> ALLOW

next rule is

SZ (fw_vlan) SA (PC1) ==> to DZ (fw_vlan) DA (ANY) ==> ANY ==> ANY  ==> DENY

If you missed this rule, then the intrazone rule is what you hit and allowed you  to ping PC3

This may be exactly what you had (and I would apologize for going down a rabbit hole... 😛