Whitelist Java Traffic

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Whitelist Java Traffic

Not applicable

Good morning,

I am relatively new to the PA's, but was wondering if there was a way to have a list of URL's & domains to whitelist Java traffic & block everything else?  And if so, can I then write any kind of regex to match specific java versions, say if we have an older version of Java that is required for a specific app for a specific site (or if its only internal and I want to block that specific older version for everyone?)?

Thanks for your help.

Kevin

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

L4 Transporter

You can do that with the custom URL categories and data/file blocking profiles.

The only problem is the Java spec is written so that JAR files may look like ZIP files.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

L4 Transporter

You can do that with the custom URL categories and data/file blocking profiles.

The only problem is the Java spec is written so that JAR files may look like ZIP files.

Thanks.  So I create a custom URL Category called Allow_Java and then I create a Data Block rule for blocking .JAR files.  How do I tie bypass the Data Block rule just for Allow_Java sites?

Thank you.

It would be two rules. One rule to allow Java on the Allow_Java category and then a second rule to block the JAR files from everywhere else (but you might still have that ZIP file problem).

After reading about the attack (Malware Intelligence Lab from FireEye - Research & Analysis of Zero-Day & Advanced Targeted Threats:...) you might want to look at the Drive-By Download feature. And make sure you're updated to Content Release 349.

Message was edited by: Matthew Harding