Custom signature for Wordpress

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Custom signature for Wordpress

Not applicable

I am fairly new to custom signature in Palo Alto, just so you are warned. I am trying to create a vulnerability signature for detecting wordpress.

The Get request will contain /? followed by 5 digits or more. User agent will be wordpress/ followed by version number. 

My plan was to create one signature with one condition for User-agent  ( http-req-headers  with pattern match 'wordpres/' ) and one for the Get request ( http-req-uri-path with pattern match  'GET /?amp' ) .

The problem I have is that the get request contains too few fixed charters. Any suggestions on how to get around this ?

4 REPLIES 4

L7 Applicator

There really is no way around the limit.  You need to either forgo that test or find a longer string.

Generally this limit is there to prevent false positives that come with very short tests.

Steve Puluka BSEET - IP Architect - DQE Communications (Metro Ethernet/ISP)
ACE PanOS 6; ACE PanOS 7; ASE 3.0; PSE 7.0 Foundations & Associate in Platform; Cyber Security; Data Center

Hi Steven,

Thank you for your support.

Would it be possible to combine GET request and User-agent in one condition? I have tried but are getting DFA error.

/Lars Olav

I don't think you can combine these two.  If I understand what you are detecting correctly, the agent will be a request header and the other is a parameter header so they are check in different sections.

I assume you have seen this documentation on creating regex by section, if not, it may be helpful.

Creating Custom Threat Signatures

Steve Puluka BSEET - IP Architect - DQE Communications (Metro Ethernet/ISP)
ACE PanOS 6; ACE PanOS 7; ASE 3.0; PSE 7.0 Foundations & Associate in Platform; Cyber Security; Data Center