Getting SSL-VPN clients to see internal servers

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Getting SSL-VPN clients to see internal servers

Not applicable

I am fairly new to configuring VPN's. I configured SSL-VPN using the wonderful guides found on this site and was able to log in with no problems. With the VPN active all of my traffic was routing out through my PaloAlto device perfectly I could surf the net all day with my traffic through the company IP address. When I try to talk to the servers on the internal network I can only see the two DNS servers I have configured under Network -> SSL-VPN. If I ping any other server on the internal network it resolves dns (obviously I can talk to the DNS servers) but the requests time out. I am certain I am missing something simple.

What do I need to change to be able to see more than just my DNS servers on the internal network from my VPN clients?

-Michael

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi Michael,

A couple other things to check:

If the rest of the internal network is behind a router, make sure you have all of the network routes in the Virtual Router on the PAN.  If you don't see anything in the traffic log it's usually an indication that there is a lower-level routing issue.

Also, the PAN does not proxy-arp for the IP-Pool, so you will need to put a static route on your next-hop router with a destination of the IP-pool pointing back to the PAN.

It is especially important to use an IP pool that is on a separate subnet from the internal network if there is no next-hop router to the internal network so you can easily force routing to the IP-Pool.  Otherwise you are relying on ARPs, which the PAN does not do today for the IP-Pool.

Cheers,

Kelly

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

L4 Transporter

Hi Michael,