how to create policy and how to identify which ports are being used on PAN

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

how to create policy and how to identify which ports are being used on PAN

L2 Linker

Hi Guys,

I am new to Palo Alto. I recently joined the firm and they are using any any as policy for internal to Public, Internal to WAN zone. My tasks is to identify the ports which are being used and apply the ACL.

My question to experts is how to find out which ports are being used and how should I apply this ACL on PAN.

I have little idea that I can check ports under traffic tab and need to create service object to apply on zones. 

Guys please suggest me the best approach and guide me  on how I should achieve this goal.  

Thanks 

2 accepted solutions

Accepted Solutions

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

@shafi021,

You shouldn't be looking at building out a port list, you should be looking at see what applications are being identified. Identify the applications that you are seeing come across the firewall and whether or not they should be allowed, and build out exceptions for any application that isn't being properly identified. 

A couple notes:

- It's easiest if you simply build out two application-groups for sanctioned and unsanctioned applications. 

- Your setup doesn't sound like they've done anything outside of just installing this box. Look at following the published best-practices and actually using your NGFW to its capabilities. 

View solution in original post

L4 Transporter

If you're running 9.0 code, you can use the Policy Optimizer to help you identify what applications are currently being seen on the existing rule.  It will easily allow you to apply just these apps to the rule, or clone a new rule with the selected applications.