how to handle Google SSL traffic?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

how to handle Google SSL traffic?

L0 Member

Hello,

I am new to PanOS devices, we recently got PA-200 router which is quite different from classic routers. Long story short - my problem is SSL traffic, I am trying to prioritize our traffic since for now we have only 10Mbit link, we have people working remotely over VPN, we have our own VoIP gateway in office, and there are people who are actively using Skype as collaboration tool. And on top of this there is Google with their content delivery ecosystem (https://peering.google.com/about/index.html) practically ruining my efforts to keep our connection efficient. Sure that bandwidth hogs like Dorpbox has been pushed down in priority as it is fairly easy by filtering it as application. But SSL traffic creates major problem since it is also used by Google to stream their content. Google empire has built a huge proxy network that can stream content very efficiently and thus flood the bandwidth. I need to somehow differentiate this content and make it lower priority among the SSL traffic that is required for work, not for entertainment. Here (Thousands of Youtube and Google IPs/Proxies) someone tried to organize the list of IPs, biggest majority of those are still correct and it probably would be efficient enough if I could filter against this list but I dont know how. The list can be broken down roughly in C-class IP subnets or IP ranges, to minimize number of entries but I still dont understand how to create a list of multiple IPs to filter against. In GUI I have to input each subnet or IP range manually as an entry and then group them together? Its too time consuming. and will create an enormous list of IPs in Management interface. I would prefer this list to be presented as single entity called "Google pr