Most secure way to validate laptop, desktop and mobile devices?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Most secure way to validate laptop, desktop and mobile devices?

L1 Bithead

I'm new to networking in general and looking for the most secure way to ensure those joining our network actually belong on the network. We have a moderate hierarchy of users with a fairly even mix of desktops, laptops and mobile devices.

What I'm looking to achieve:

- Only specific devices are able to connect to network (whitelist specific, deny rest)

- Group devices into groups for different filtering rules

Notes:

- We have a single wifi spread throughout the site which managament and operators share

- We have outside contractors onsite which need access temporarily

- We use GlobalProtect to connect to the network remotely; I need to ensure this isn't disrupted

- We have a tunnel in place to a sister site that also needs to stay connected

From what I've read so far it seams that a certificate based authentication would be the most secure, though I've no idea where to start or if it's even possible to implement on mobile or temporary devices.

Would very much appreciate any help.

3 REPLIES 3

L1 Bithead

I believe the only way to do so with a PA is with Global Protect and you could use certificates.   Otherwise, you would have to look at a genuine NAC product.  Clearpass (aruba - hp) makes a pretty extensive one with a lot of capabilities, there are others out there too.

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

@davidgregg,

1) Have you configured user-id already, because if so you can restrict all security policies to known-user and as long as the IP has a user-id mapping the policies would function, but if they didn't have a mapped user-id entry then they would hit the default deny rule.