Site-to-Site VPN private subnets cannot ping eachother through the tunnel

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Site-to-Site VPN private subnets cannot ping eachother through the tunnel

L1 Bithead

I am new to learning Palo Alto Firewalls.  I have a couple of PA-8.0.0 virtual machine instances setup on my desktop with internet access through my home network on a Windows 10 host machine, for learning purposes.  I configured site-to-site vpn and can get the tunnel up, both phase1 and phase2.  The firewalls can ping eachother’s external IP addresses but their respective internal private hosts cannot ping eachother through the tunnel.  The configuration seems fine and nothing in the system logs indicate any drops or disconnection.  Am I missing a security policy or what else needs doing?  I have security policies configured on each firewall to allow traffic out to the external untrust zone.  Any assistance will be appreciated.   

2 accepted solutions

Accepted Solutions

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

@Palobeacon,

Did you setup static routes so that the firewall knows how to route the traffic through the IPSec tunnel? Do you have a security rulebase entry allowing traffic to actually process across the IPSec tunnel zone that you added? 

If you haven't already, override your interzone-default security entry to log denied traffic so you can see if it's a security entry that is missing or not. 

View solution in original post

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

Hello,

Also make sure your policies are set log log at session end. Make sure there are policies to allow the traffic to traverse the zones if you configured them.

Regards,

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

@Palobeacon,