Slow download for Metasploit Updates

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Slow download for Metasploit Updates

L4 Transporter

I have question and I am not sure if I am posting this in the right place. I am also new to Palo Alto firewalls. I have a lot of experience with Cisco and SonicWall so you'll have to excuse me if I sound a little ignorant concerning Palo Alto at the moment.

This is my question/problem. I have a single subnet on my network that seems to be having problems downloading updates from metasploit. Browsing to the metasploit website and downloading the update will give an error stating "Installation failed: Signature failure". The research we've done and the feedback we've been given by Rapid7 is explaining this error is due to a firewall configuration. The other problem is when we attempt to download the file, I believe from and direct link, it's insanely slow. It's about 120 Mb file and it says the download will take about 14 days.

A couple of things to know. This is the only problem download this user and subnet is experiencing, that we are aware of. I am on a different subnet and my direct download is fine, it takes just a couple of minutes to download. The firewall has a rule to allow all from untrust to trust. We are using a PA500. At this point I am not sure what more I can do to verify and confirm that the firewall is not the problem. What steps can I take to continue to troubleshooting this to figure out the firewall is really the culprit or not? Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

8 REPLIES 8

L6 Presenter