Skillet from Panorama Backup

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Skillet from Panorama Backup

L1 Bithead

I am new to Skillets, but have Panhandler/Docker installed and seemingly working. I have environments(panorama+ngfw) that are cookie cutter, except for environmental specifics, hostnames, IP's, etc. I want to import a backup xml from Panorama to use as a template(Skillet), change the variables, save and re-import into a new panorama instance. I have not figured out how to do this....do I need to host the backup xml's in a GIT repo, or can i simply import them?

4 REPLIES 4

L4 Transporter

There are a few options if you just want a full xml output to import/load to the firewall.

I'll reference https://skilletbuilder.readthedocs.io/en/latest/ with more information about building skillets.

1) archive repo so you can have a backup and share

This is the standard model. In the next version of panHandler now in development you'll also be able to read/update private repos if you don't want your work in the public domain. The config tutorial in the skilletBuilder docs covers most of the work.

- output the full xml file and store in the same directory as the .meta-cnc.yaml file

- use type 'template' which is just rendered text output to screen doing the variable swap

- add the variables to the xml file and the variables section of the yaml file

- push to github and import

- run the skillet, input values, and see the output on screen to capture and load to the firewall

2) use the new skillet editor features in panHander (now in development)

For an early peek you can install the dev version of panhandler noting it isn't as stable as code for general release.

https://skilletbuilder.readthedocs.io/en/latest/getting_started/panhandler.html#updating-or-running-...

(more docs/tutorials for this model coming soon...)