UserID API integrated with OpenDirectory service on OS X Server

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

UserID API integrated with OpenDirectory service on OS X Server

Not applicable

Hi,

I'm looking for guidance on how to integrate UserID API with my OpenDirectoy service running on a OS X Server. Anyone?

5 REPLIES 5

L4 Transporter

I've never worked with OpenDirectory before, but maybe the information in this post will help you out.

Hi,

I actually managed to get authentication working using LDAP but what is still missing is IP mapping where I want to extract username and IP address from maybe the authentication log and / or the email log. This way I don't need to use captive portal for iPhone and iPad users.

I'm not very good at writing scripts but can provide a copy of one of the logs available if it would help?

Regards,

Hello,

I have had success syslogging off the KDC log from OpenDirectory and then treating like any other syslog integration (UserID API integration using Syslog)

If you need any help with the regular expression used in the script just post a sample log with both a user and IP data in it.

Have a great evening

Nick

Much appriciated !

Here is one example of the Mail Server log "Library/Logs/Mail/mailaccess.log"

Feb 21 10:35:29 server.name log[96339]: imap-login: Login: user=<jimmy.nilsson>, method=CRAM-MD5, rip=192.168.5.3,

Regards,

Hi Santa,

Assuming you are running Pearl on your syslog server of choice your line to extract the user and IP from this log will look like this:

#Extract user and IP from string

if ($string =~ /user=\<(\w+\.\w+).*rip=(\d+\.\d+\.\d+\.\d+)/) {$user =$1; $address = $2};