Loading partial configuration snapshot

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Loading partial configuration snapshot

L0 Member

Hello,

I am new to Palo Alto and its API, and I am a bit lost: I need to load a named configuration snapshot, which may be uploaded from a third party, without changing the

/config/shared/local-user-database-user-database entry.

I am currently downloading the snapshot, editing it and re-uploading it in a very messy fashion:

From the documentation I only found how to get the current configuration with /api/?type=config&action=show&key=<key>, but can't find any way to get a named saved configuration via normal API call.

I can download the named snapshot with /php/device/config.export.php?name=<config name> but it requires mimicking a web admin login, is there any way to do so normally via API?

I also tried to use <partial> (which, in the documentation, is used with <commit> and some other commands) but I can't get it to work with <load>, for instance with:

/api/?&type=op&cmd=<load><config><regenerate-rule-uuid-all>no</regenerate-rule-uuid-all><from>config_name</from><partial><local-user-database>excluded</local-user-database></partial></config></load>&key=key

But I get

<response status="error" code="17"><msg><line><![CDATA[ load -> config -> partial -> local-user-database unexpected here]]></line><line><![CDATA[ load -> config -> partial is invalid]]></line></msg></response>

Is my syntax wrong or <partial> can't be used with <load> at all?

2 REPLIES 2

L4 Transporter

@LucaVitali I think the your approach is slightly wrong. You can load any part of the configuration (e.g. address objects), but you can't directly load the whole configuration file, but exclude some conifg items.