CORTEX XDR - Best practices

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

CORTEX XDR - Best practices

L0 Member

Hi everyone !

I'm a beginner on CORTEX XDR, and need some help for 2 things !

- First, my client want to know if it's possible to schedule a Malware Scan based on the CPU use. I mean, they have around 500 computers, which are used in so many different teams, with various work hours. They need to schedule scan when the computer is alive, but when its use is low (during a break for example) ? But there is no official time for break... So is it possible to setup this kind of scan ? If not, would you have some advises ?

- I would like to know how to setup a Web protection with the CORTEX XDR ? For example : Web analyse, Browser exploits protection, Malicious Web Page Protection....

Thanks for your help !

Have a nice day.

1 REPLY 1

L4 Transporter

Hello @MxC604 

Thanks for reaching out on LiveCommunity.

Below are the answers to your queries:

1. It is not possible to initiate a malware scan based on CPU usage. There are 3 ways for initiating a scan using XDR.

a. On demand scan from endpoint administration table or from action center.

b. Periodic scan that we can configure in malware security profile.

c. End user initiated scan for specific file or folder from endpoint.

Periodic scan is the best option for you. You can create multiple malware security profiles specific to timezones and then schedule scan for weekends or during off duty hours.  Below is the reference guide for creating a malware security profile.

https://docs-cortex.paloaltonetworks.com/r/Cortex-XDR/Cortex-XDR-Pro-Administrator-Guide/Add-a-New-M...

If you want to know more about how to scan an endpoint, please refer below link.

https://docs-cortex.paloaltonetworks.com/r/Cortex-XDR/Cortex-XDR-Pro-Administrator-Guide/Scan-an-End...