Use Cortex XDR to find host with ports 80,443 open

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Use Cortex XDR to find host with ports 80,443 open

L1 Bithead

Hello -

I'm totally new to Cortex XDR and its XQL - though I need to find machines in our environment that have ports 80/433 open. Is this possible via XQL?

I started with these lines to see which column/s I could use for what I want to accomplish and I think it did not have it:

dataset = xdr_data 
| limit 10

Please help! Thank you

Cortex XDR Cortex Data Lake 

Jes Yang
6 REPLIES 6

L5 Sessionator

Hi @JonathanYang_RX the data is not available, IIRC.
If your intention is to leverage XDR, you can write a Python script and execute it via Action Center, and parse the data for your needs.

L3 Networker

Dear Jonathon, 

You cannot query active network state of hosts. Best way is doing this, as @bbarmanroy mentioned, Action Center. 
You can write python script or you can execute command (netstat, ss etc) for the check current state of ports. 

with XQL, you can only query historical data. that might be either process data or firewall data. 

for process, you can use

dataset = xdr_data | field action_local_port = "80" or field action_local_port = "443"

for windows firewall, (if enabled)

dataset = host_firewall_events
| filter local_port = 443 or local_port = 80

in case of a made a connection towards to ports, you should have telemetry data. 

Dears, 

contributing with my 5 cents. 

for the command to run

nmap -p 80,443 192.168.1.0/24 

or also

nmap -p 80,443 192.168.1.*