Considering Buying Palo Alto 800 Series

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Considering Buying Palo Alto 800 Series

L0 Member

Hi All,

I would like to request assistance from anyone who has had experience with different firewall vendors and currently is a Palo Alto firewall user as I'm not a firewall expert whatsoever.

I'm considering buying a Palo Alto 850 Series firewall over a Fortigate 200E firewall to handle up to 1 Gbps of traffic with any and eventually all security features enabled, but I'm having a tough time understanding the different throughput jargon that Sales engineers and reps put out there to make a sale. The Palo Alto sales representative that visited us strongly claims that the throughput of their firewalls is NOT affected AT ALL when security features are turned on such as Threat Prevention, App ID, IPS, etc. versus any other vendor out there such as Fortinet (which I found hard to believe.)

So we pulled up the sales documentation for Palo Alto firewalls and they have different throughput numbers when AppID is enabled, another number for when Threat prevention is enabled, and so forth. The sales representative came back saying that the numbers are published running ideal tests using 64 Kb HTTP transactions and that the throughput is much higher when the payload is bigger as it usually happens in the real world, but now approvals to buy equipment are halted because of the disparage in information available and the distrust for sales engineers often making unsubstantiated claims in order to close the sale.

Can anyone shed light on this? To be more exact:

-What has been your experience with the real world throughput of the Palo Alto firewalls you manage?